Join me in the Winner’s Circle

J K Galbraith medallionI usually keep the focus on “funny” in MillarLITE, but I can’t resist sharing some exciting news. I was delighted to learn, this past week, that I’ve been awarded the 2009 John Kenneth Galbraith Literary Award for a serious short story I wrote called “The Insomniac.”

Yes, I do write serious material (although I often manage to sneak some humour into my serious writing too). John Kenneth Galbraith was one of the brilliant minds of our time. An internationally acclaimed economist and ambassador, he authored four dozen books and was awarded the Order of Canada in 1997. He also received the American Presidential Medal of Freedom – twice!

To have my name in any way linked with Galbraith’s is, for me, a huge honour; to be the first woman to earn the award since its inception is the icing on my cake! Woman at computerIf your computer screen is flickering, it’s because I am jumping up and down in excitement – do not call your internet service provider!

If you want to read “The Insomniac,” you’ll find it posted on the John Kenneth Galbraith site. If you’d rather flip the dial back to funny, I’m fine with that too, because today is the last day for you to submit funny limericks to the MillarLITE limerick contest. You have until midnight Pacific Time today (October 21, 2009) to e-mail your entry (or two, or three) to judy@judithmillar.com.

Just a reminder: while limericks are sometimes bawdy, keep your submissions light, and clean! When it comes to S-E-X, this is as risqué as we get:

Robin Red BreastA robin complained in her nest:
“I wish he would give it a rest!
I married a leg-man
But now, since the eggs, man,
He’s crazy about my red breast!”

OSR_book coverIf your limerick wins, you’ll receive an autographed copy of One Sweet Ride, an anthology being released in November, 2009, which contains three of my short stories, along with the poetry and prose of other Vancouver Island writers. And your winning limerick will be posted here, on October 28th! Full contest details here.

winning cupI can’t wait to read your limericks. Perhaps you’ll be the one to join me in the winner’s circle!

© Judith Millar 2009. All rights reserved.

E-mail limerick entries to judy@judithmillar.com, subject line: Limerick Contest Entry – before midnight, Pacific Time, tonight (Oct. 21, 2009)!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Join me in the Winner’s Circle”

  1. joannamallory Says:

    Congratulations, Judith! Very well-written story, drew me right into Annie’s world. I confess I’d rather laugh than be sombre, but I applaud your ability to cause readers to do both. They’re both needed.

  2. violetnesdoly Says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!! You go girl!!

    It would be nice if some of your humor rubbed off on readers like moi. (But then, if all the peanut gallery were as funny as the stand-up, you’d have to get a canned laugh track – and that would never do!)

  3. Judy from Qualicum Says:

    Congratulations on your John Kenneth Galbraith win, Judy! I’ve read The Insomniac and your win is well-deserved. Can’t wait to read the winning limerick.
    Judy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

