Special Days

 PoppyToday is Remembrance Day – or, depending on where in the world you are reading this, you may say Veterans’ Day. There is nothing funny about the enormous sacrifices that have been made on our behalf; those very sacrifices allow us to enjoy the good life, love and laughter that we are privileged to enjoy each and every day. I hope you paused today to count your blessings; many came at great cost.

I’m all for designating special days so we “remember to remember” what really matters. The “special day” thing seems to be getting out of hand, though. The other day I stumbled onto a website that lists bizarre and funny “holidays” by month – there’s one for almost every day of the year.

Male cookDid you know you’ve just missed National “Men Make Dinner” day?  This apparently happens every November 5th. You may want to make note of that for next year. For me, there’s no need. In our house, Kayak Guy mostly makes dinner, which has a lot to do with why we eat as well as we do. You may recall I mentioned in Julie & Julia & Judith that cooking is not my forté. Or even my mediocreté.

Do I know I am a pampered princess? I do. And seeing the mention of national “Men Make Dinner” day reminded me that I do not thank Kayak Guy often enough for his ongoing culinary efforts. So last night I made a point of praising every item on the plate. His reply? “HUH?”

Male kayakerIt’s not that he doesn’t appreciate being appreciated. It’s just that Kayak Guy is suffering from Kayak Ear. He’s been practising kayak rolls – learning to right himself by purposely flipping over – and he neglected to wear his ear protection. He now has water in the ear – and an inability to hear compliments (or complaints, for that matter). I have so far resisted the urge to say “nah-nah-nah-nah-nah, that’ll teach you!” – mostly since rubbing it in isn’t as much fun when the victim can’t actually hear you. I hope he’ll be able to hear how much I enjoyed last night’s pork medallions by next Tuesday, when his antibiotic has kicked in.

There are some other special days coming up according to the Bizarre Holiday list that you might want to make note of.  November 15th is “Clean your Refrigerator” Day. Which I should probably consider “celebrating” since there is something growing in the crisper of my Whirlpool Side-by-Side that is definitely not crisp. November 19th is apparently “Have a Bad Day Day” – I guess for those of us who tire of having folks constantly tell us to “Have a Great Day.”

Chef cooks chickenAnd looking ahead to next month, I see that December 8th has been designated – or should I say “earmarked”? –  National “Take it in the Ear” Day. (I kid you not.) I considered pointing this out to Kayak Guy, but decided he might fail to see the humour. And keeping a happy chef in my kitchen is definitely in my long-term best interest. I know which side my bread is buttered on. It’s all about “remembering to remember” what really matters.

What “special days” do you celebrate?

© Judith Millar 2009. All rights reserved.

cropped-cba-bannerThe Canadian Blog Awards are now open. It only takes a few seconds to nominate your favourite blogs. If you enjoy reading MillarLITE, I’d love it if you’d nominate it in the  “Humour”  and “Best New Blog” categories. Just copy the URL at the top of this screen, and paste it down in the nomination form. Fill in the other boxes, click and you’re done.  Thanks for that!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Special Days”

  1. Juanita Says:

    Once again, I loved your “Special Days”, as well as all your blogs so can’t decide which I like best.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

